International Symposium on Hydraulic Machines-VIII’ 18 organized at Kathmandu University

 International symposium on “Current Research in Hydraulic Turbines” was held for the eighth time on 20th March, 2018 as CRHT-VIII after the successful completion of the previous seven events in 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017. Other renewable energy source was included as additional topics for the symposium.

   It was a one-day program which was held at CV Raman Auditorium, Senate Hall, Mini Auditorium and Executive Dining Hall. The event was scheduled under three parallel sessions led by respective chairs. Topic of the papers/presentations was divided into 6 broad thematic areas:

  1. Modeling and Simulation in Hydroturbines (5 presentations)
  2. Simulation & Experimental Techniques in Hydropower (5 presentations)
  3. Sediment erosion & cavitation in hydraulic turbines (5 presentations)
  4. Renewable Energy, Devices, and Energy Measurement & Efficiency (4 presentations)
  5. Pumps, FSI in pipe & Net Metering (3 presentations)
  6. Reversible pump turbines (RPT) & Hill chart for Francis turbine (4 presentations)

   The event started with the welcome speech by Dr. Hari Prasad Neopane, Assoc. Prof. and HOD at DOME, followed by a featured presentation of Member Secretary-TTL, Dr. Biraj Singh ThapaMr. Tom Solberg, MD of ICH, Norway gave the key note speech about the activities of ICH. Prof. Dr. Ram Kantha Makaju Shrestha, Vice Chancellor at Kathmandu University delivered the inaugural speech about the importance of research in academic sector through a video message. Dr. Damber Bahadur Nepali, Dean of School of Engineering, and Prof. Bhola Thapa, Registrar of Kathmandu University gave remarks about the event. It was followed by featured presentations of Simen Vogt Svendsen, Maintenance Manager of Theun-Hinboun Power Company, Laos, Ishwar Man Deshar, Plant Manager of Himal Power Ltd., Nepal, Prof. Young Do Choi, Professor of Mokpo University, S. Korea, Ugyen Rinzin, Scientific Officer at Druk Green Power Cooperation, Bhutan, Prof. Bhupendra K. Gandhi, Professor of IIT Roorkee, India and Prof. Ole Gunnar Dahlhaug, NTNU, Norway respectively.

   In this symposium, the technical session was represented by six Universities in three parallel sessions. The first session was divided into two themes. The first theme was focused on modeling and simulation in hydro-turbines, whereas the second theme was focused on Renewable Energy, Devices, and Energy Measurements and Efficiency. This session was chaired by Dr. Biraj Singh Thapa and Dr. Guo Zhiwei. The second session had a theme of Simulation and Experimental Techniques in Hydropower, as well as Pumps, FSI in pipe and Net Metering. This session was chaired by Prof. Ole Gunnar Dahlhaug and Dr. Hari Prasad Neopane. The third session was focused on Sediment erosion and Cavitation in hydraulic turbines, as well as Reversible pump turbines and Hill Chart for Francis turbines. This session was chaired by Prof. B.K. Gandhi and Prof. Young Do Choi.

   The closing session contained a featured presentation from Prof. Arun Kumar, Professor of IIT Roorkee, India. Dr. Hari Pd. Neopane provided the summary of the sessions giving best wishes to all the researchers. Prof. Bhola Thapa finally gave the closing speech with vote of thanks to all the participants, presenters, organizers, volunteers and sponsors.

   The event was coordinated by Mr. Nirmal Acharya, Research Associate at TTL. Ms. Kritika BhandariMr. Nikshan Poudel and Ms. Samita Rimal, students from DoME emceed the program.

Photos from CRHT-VIII’18 Symposium

crht flex gate 18

Official program flex of the symposium

DSC 6348

Participants standing for the National Anthem inside CV Raman Auditorium

DSC 8455

Mr. Tom Solberg, MD, ICH addressing the symposium

DSC 8422

Prof. Dr. Ram Kantha Makaju, VC-KU delivering the inagural video message

DSC 8472

Prof. Dr. Bhola Thapa, Registrar-KU with his remarks about the event

DSC 6374

Dr. Damber Bahadur Nepali, Dean- SoE-KU addressing the event

DSC 8514

Prof. Ole Gunnar Dahlhaug, NTNU with his keynote speech during the program

DSC 8411

Dr. Hari Pd. Neopane, HoD, DoME-KU addressing the event

DSC 8435

Dr. Biraj Singh Thapa, Faculty Member,TTL-KU with his featured presentation

DSC 8550

Technical session in the Senate Hall

DSC 8561

Technical session in the Exective Dining Hall 

DSC 8558

Presenter in the Mini Auditorium during the technical session

DSC 8620

Session Chairs and MC in one of the parallel session

DSC 8480

 Group photo after the completion of feature presentation session